Submitting to Authorities (Whether You Like ‘Em or Not)

In this verse was in my inbox 2 days ago:

“Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.” ~Romans 13:1

What a good reminder for me!  I have the tendency to get angry over government issues, and things that the government is doing that seem wrong to me.  But I have to remind myself, like the verse says, that God established the authorities in this country.  I should be respectful of that.

And what better way to reach people for Jesus?  If a non-believer sees how much we, as believers, love and respect our authorities (and quite frankly, not just our government, but also everyone we come into contact with), they may ask, “Why are you so loving and respectful to everyone?”  And we can respond, “Jesus saved me from myself, and I want to live my life to glorify Him.”

And it’s not about forcing people to accepting Jesus.  That will just turn people away from Jesus.  It isn’t about that at all.  If God gives you the perfect opportunity to share the gospel with someone, then GO for it!  But if the person you’re talking to isn’t willing to accept Jesus, DON’T force it on him or her!  Just wait for God to change his or her heart.

Anyway, God used that verse as a great reminder for me, and I hope it is for you, as well.

~Grammar_girl

Leave a Reply

