5 Great Novels For Fantasy-Lovers

I love fantasy.  Don’t know if I’ve ever told you that, but I do.  I love it so much that I’m going to write a fantasy novel this summer.  I love fantasy a lot.  The images below pretty much sum up my attitude about fantasy:

dream-fantasy-feelings-imagination-favim-com-602109

75a483374db9560541d37774897fdffe

What is fantasy, anyway?  I think we would all agree that it is a genre of literature, but what makes it different from the rest of the literary genres?  What makes it a unique genre?  Here are some elements of the fantasy genre from this article:

  • Events occur outside the ordinary laws that operate within the universe.
  • Magic is central to the fantasy genre.
  • Fantasy stories often involve journeys and quests.

According to this article (which you can find here), fantasy is…

Fantasy is a form of literary genre in which a plot cannot occur in the real world. Its plot usually involves witchcraft or magic taking place on an undiscovered planet of an unknown world. Its overall theme and setting is a combination of technology, architecture, and language resembling European medieval ages. The most interesting thing about fantasies is that their plot involves witches, sorcerers, mythical and animal creatures talking like humans, which never happens in the real life.\

Guess what?  After this post, I’m going to write a[nother] post about why Christians can write fantasy, even though some may object to the idea of magic in their novels. {Hint: You’re the author; you control what you write!}

Anyway, I’ve created a list of fantasy novels which I really enjoyed, so if you love fantasy, you should definitely try reading these books:

1.  The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

de598f15-9fb1-49b2-85c7-6cd13c162917

If you haven’t heard of the Lord of the Rings, you might just live in a hole in the ground.  You also might be a hobbit.  The hole probably isn’t a nasty, dirty, wet hole.  It’s a hobbit hole.  Okay, I’ll stop.  {For those of you who haven’t read the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, that was a Hobbit reference. 😉 }  This is probably one of the best fantasy series of all time.  It’s that good.  J. R. R. Tolkien is a master world-builder.  He creates a world–Middle Earth–that is realistic.  This world he created is so complex that he even wrote entire books about the lore and legends and history of this world.  It’s incredible.  The books in the series are as follows:

  • The Hobbit (which is not technically part of the Lord of the Rings series, but anyway…)
  • The Fellowship of the Ring
  • The Two Towers
  • The Return of the King

2.  Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

ap_0710030156698-69a6d91338e0a38f03d78bb7e9e290508cfb1273-s900-c85

Yes, I’ve read Harry Potter.  Now before you start screaming at me, let me tell you something: these books are some of the most brilliant novels I’ve ever read–and I’ve read a lot of novels.  J. K. Rowling creates a world of magic so vivid, the reader can picture it quite clearly in his or her mind.  Another post coming on why Harry Potter is not a bad series for a Christian to read.  I’d love to hear your thoughts about reading Harry Potter, too. *winks mysteriously*

These are the books in the series (they’re pretty long [the longest is 800 some pages], but they aren’t hard reads, and they’re so action-packed and suspenseful that you won’t be able to put them down):

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix 
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

3.  The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

inheritancecycle4hc

Although the first book, Eragon, was not my favorite, I loved the rest of the books in this series.  Christopher Paolini creates yet another realistic world of his own.  His world has a Tolkien-ish feel to it, but it is his own and unique.  The way he uses magic in his series is also unique and fascinating (after all, to be considered a fantasy book, it must contain magic).  The books in this series are:

  • Eragon
  • Eldest
  • Brisingr
  • Inheritance

4.  The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan

168zrbd

This series is one of my all-time favorites (okay, all the books on this list are some of my all-time favorites).  In the series, the Greek gods are real, and therefore, there are demigods who must fight monsters like in the myths.  If you’re a mythology geek (I almost typed greek XD ) like me, you’ll love this series.  And if you’re not (I pity you), you’ll still love this series.  The books in the series are as follows:

  • The Lightning Thief
  • The Sea of Monsters
  • The Titan’s Curse
  • The Battle of the Labryinth
  • The Last Olympian

{There is also a second series, and I believe the author is writing a third.  I can’t recommend the second series because I haven’t read all of it, and I’ve heard some bad things about it.}

5.  The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

wingfeather

Okay, I’ve still only read the first three books (I’m finishing the last one this summer), but I can tell you from what I’ve read these books are amazing.  Andrew Peterson really creates another realistic world of his own, with its own feel and its own culture.  It’s amazing that so many authors can create worlds that are so different, isn’t it?  Anway, read these books!

  • On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness
  • North! Or Be Eaten
  • The Monster in the Hollows
  • The Warden and the Wolf King

Have you read any of these books?   What did you think of them?  Let me know in the comments if you’d like to see a full review on any of the books above!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “5 Great Novels For Fantasy-Lovers

  1. Corissa, Maiden of Praise

    I’d be interested to read your report about Harry Potter. I’ve not actually read them myself, but the main reason that I’ve heard against them is that the good guys use deep, dark magic, the kind of stuff that it might actually be possible to “play” with in our world, and could encourage behavior as such. That’s the thing with Narnia and Wingfeather Saga, it’s pretty much only the villains who use sorcery. Lord of the Rings is debatable (I have read those), but I’ve found it to be almost entirely different from magic that could encourage use in our world, because that kind doesn’t really exist. They are not calling on spirits for power, or to know the future; and really, it’s more of a gift that’s granted than anything, and draws a beautiful allegory to using the gifts we have wisely, or else they can be twisted to dark and evil purposes. At least, that’s my opinion.
    What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I always love to hear the other side of the argument. 😉 Honestly, I don’t have a problem with Harry Potter because, in my opinion, it’s strictly fantasy. I see your point about the good guys in Harry Potter using magic, but I wouldn’t consider it deep, dark magic in the series. In the Harry Potter series, magic is PART of their world. Magic in the series is kind of like the force in Star Wars: it can be used for good or evil, but the magic itself isn’t bad. Obviously, in the real world, this is false, since any magic is evil (and that is why the distinction between magic and miracles is so important in the real world). I think that a lot of Christians jump to the conclusion that J. K. Rowling is promoting witchcraft, but I don’t think she is at all. And if we automatically throw out the Harry Potter series, we miss out on a great story. If the Harry Potter series did not have good vs. evil themes where the good triumphs over the evil every time, then I would have a problem with it. As long as the person reading the series knows and understands that the series is fantasy and not true at all, it should be fine. However, if you feel like God’s telling you not to read it, then don’t!
      Anyway, that’s just my two cents. I’ll have to use some of these thoughts in the actual post. 😛 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

